The Silenced Woman Finds Her Voice

Word Press

Your face is etched into my eyes and
Traced on my brain like an unfading tattoo. This permanent reminder of all that I hate was unsolicited and the ink penetrated my skin as you infiltrated my existence.

Your hot breath reeked of poison.
I still feel it on my neck…smell it in the dark…
Face to face with a cultural flaw.
Masculinity as a mask.
These “urges”.

Choking on your name as a remembrance of your sweaty palms around my feeble neck.
Never to tell a soul
the entire truth of horror faced in an instant.
Some things are better left unsaid.
Unknown.

Lather, rinse, repeat.
Trying to wash my skin of your violent grasp
I sit and write in safety…
but will forever be afraid.

 

Leave a Reply

