Eternal Ache 

A phantom limb.

Pain in the hole my heart once lived.

A nostalgic ache.

Longing for who I used to be

before you came crashing into my being.

Before your beautiful confusion

destroyed my monotonous contentment.

A playmate for my mind

with an identical soul.

You awakened my weary heart

with no intention of loving back.

Paralyzed by your existence,

I long for life before your impact.

Before your gorgeous wreck morphed me

I wish I remembered what it was like

before the agony of knowing you

and losing you.

Because I’ll never be the same.

Leave a Reply

