What wakes me 

I am tormented by day

by remembering that night.

Possessed by the demon called Memory.

How uncanny to be haunted

by someone who is not dead.

Though, in my darkest hours,

I’ve wished him to be.

Realizations have forced me to see

his death would bring no solace.

 

No- as he still stalks the streets alive,

dead, he’d continue to linger in my mind

For he has made himself

temporarily immortal,

dwelling in two lives at once.

He goes about his normal life

while simultaneously living

in my nightmares.

 

And in the midst of the night

I suddenly wake

To feel his phantom hands

Groping the body I once called my own

But will eternally have to share
With him.

Leave a Reply

