Again

Old feelings come back…

Different, yet completely familiar.

The same way I reread 

my worn out book

As I finger the pages

Heartbroken to realize

all the time I spent searching

In places I didn’t belong.  

We go back to old feelings 

For the same reasons we

reread our favorite novels

rewatch our favorite shows 

replay our favorite memories 

repeat our favorite stories 

rewind to our favorite parts 

For it is the familiar we cling to

Desperate for a piece of the known

When in reality our lives are a big 

Mystery waiting to unfold 

But I am not inspired by the uncertainty,

of this mysterious phenomena called ‘life’. 

So I cling to what is known 

And I am entirely content with that.   

Leave a Reply

